Feelin’ Good

14 07 2007

I just finished my run, and I’m so excited and proud of myself!  I ran – no walking involved here, folks – 3/4 of a mile!  Applause is ringing in my ears 🙂  I was really unsure about whether I could do it, and feared that I would end up having to walk right at the end.  Last Saturday I ran 1/2 a mile, but let me tell you that though you may not think so when you’re behind the wheel, when you are on your feet – there is a big gap between 1/2 a mile and 3/4 mile!  I’m also learning that running is just as much a mental sport as a physical one.  If you begin to lose your focus, determination or belief in yourself in your mind, or think about what you are feeling physically, you will reflect that in your effort and your results.  When I was at about a 1/4 mile into it, I was seriously losing the mental battle.  I was feeling every thump of the pavement and seriously beginning to think I wouldn’t be able to do it.  I had to talk myself up and say “Oh yes, I can – I ran 1/2 a mile last week and it really wasn’t that bad or that hard.” and that sort of thing, and before I knew it, I was at the 1/2 mile mark.  Then I just had to remind myself that I was 2/3 through it and began to listen to the birds and look at the flowers and trees.  Once I could see the end of the course, I was sure I could run that even if I had to hold my breath!  It feels good.  I am enjoying not only the physical exhilaration, but the mental battle too.  I feel stronger, more fit, and get this – younger!  OOOOOh – does that make ya wanna run?  LOL

Off to the farmer’s market for some green bean nostalgia!

Actions

Information

2 responses

16 07 2007
snpnmnmi

Uh, no. Don’t want to run. Maybe we could walk somewhere soon? LOL
Tip for you! http://snpnmnmi.wordpress.com/2007/07/16/tip-time/

17 07 2007
amyszoo

I’m stopping over from It’s a Wonderful Life, and hey, you already have me in your sidebar…how fun! 🙂 I hope you enjoy your new blogging experience. You are a really good writer and as you get out there I bet you will meet a lot of fun people fast!

I love your story about fresh veggies. What a great mommy to take care of her family that way. We just bought a house that has plenty of land for a garden so next year is the beginning of something fun for my family and I. Good hard work, but a yummy bounty to follow!

Take care!
Amy

Leave a Reply

