Meandering thoughts

9 08 2007

Have you ever felt like you just couldn’t keep your train of thought on the track?  I don’t know if it’s the heat, the fact that we have started school and I’m adjusting to having a daily schedule again, or if I’m just losing it – but my brain is not cooperating!  I came home from a couple of hours of hanging out at a friend’s pool yesterday and just checked out – for I don’t even know how long.  It is a true blessing that my children are not little, because they would certainly have been “unsupervised” LOL  Believe it or not, they finished all of their schoolwork, even with a pool break – without my prompting.  (Good kids – they are a blessing!) 

I had a very difficult time waking up yesterday morning, and had managed to get my run in before going to the pool, but I felt distracted and disoriented, and frankly still feel a bit of that.  I am pretty good about staying hydrated….

Anyhoo, I came home and hit the couch (very unusual for me) and dozed for an amount of time which I was unable to mentally calculate when I awoke.  I served serve-yourself sandwiches for dinner, and hit the couch again until a bit after nine, when I just gave up trying to focus my vision and went to bed.  I slept almost 12 hours.  I felt physically better today, but I still just feel distant from the world, if that makes sense.  I can’t seem to think.  I don’t know. I don’t like it.  I need to run again in the morning, so I hope this weariness passes with the night.

School has gone well its first 3 days.  I am usually able to manage to get the kids to focus for the first few months of each new year, which saves incredible amounts of time each day.  Sometime during mid-year they end up wasting tons of time looking for that favorite mechanical pencil that they didn’t put where it should go, that book that they carted off the day before in search of a new or more comfortable place to read, or giving the dog attention because her hound-dog face arouses their sympathies.  Those days make me want to scream, and of course, always seem to be the days that a public-schooled friend knocks on the door to play after school only to be told “I can’t play right now: I’m still doing school.”  Urgh!

But for now, they move along cheerfully, accomplishing much before lunchtime. 

I haven’t had much brain to post or surf others’ blogs for the past few days, but I’m hoping this muddled brain will get it all together after the first week 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

