Runnin’ and Grinnin’

21 09 2007

Well I am very happy to have a running goal again – I think until my endurance is there, I just need one.  In case you’re a new reader, or don’t remember, read my Runner page so this makes sense.

So I started running by training for a 5k that will be next week.  I knew about 3 weeks ago that I wasn’t going to be able to do it – for a couple of reasons – first of all, the race day conflicts with a major family gathering that cannot be moved.  I am one of 4, and my hometown annual festival happens the last full weekend of September, every year.  My siblings and I along with our families always go “home” for that, so I can’t just skip it (and don’t want to).  I thought I had it all figured out – the race is Friday evening, so I had planned to run it, then either leave afterward and arrive in town very late, or get up early the next morning and go.  However, we hatched a plan to have all our children’s picture made together, and all schedules considered, had to make the appointment for Friday afternoon, so I won’t be in town for the race.

Secondly, I knew I a had a problem before that.  My endurance was just simply not increasing enough to keep up with the training schedule.  I was following it carefully, but one week the schedule called for me to increase my distance all week, and I just couldn’t do it.  The distance it required me to run was as far as it had ever required, for the previous week’s long run – I couldn’t repeat that 3 times the next week – I tried, but I could not, and I am able to push myself usually beyond what is wise:)  So either the program wasn’t right for me, I was doing something wrong, or I was just way too out of shape to begin that program without a long conditioning period first…

I finally joined the forum community on the site where I keep a running log, and got some advice from more experienced runners.  They advised that I start over, using the Couch to 5k Program, so I did.  I am in week 2, and it is going very well.  I also learned of some podcasts that were made to go along with the program, and those are wonderful, because I am hearing someone tell me when to run, when to walk, rather than having to keep looking at my watch to time the intervals.

My goal is to finish this program and be able to run the distance and look for a local 5k toward the end of this program, instead of stressing about being ready by a certain day, ’cause if I’m not, it brings me down, when that is not the purpose of my starting to run!

In other news:  The fish store tested my water and said that it was perfect, and in fact, much better than most tanks in this area (?).  They also suggested that I treat the tank for parasites, as well as leaving the murder suspect in quarantine.  I’ve suffered no more fishy losses.  The final count was 11, which included both puffers – I miss them 😦  I will allow some time to pass for safety, and restock…

In about a week, my honey has to take a business trip.  He usually only has to do this a few times a year, and they are typically just 2-3 days, but this one will be for almost a week – SO HE’S ADDING A COUPLE MORE DAYS AND TAKING ME WITH HIM!!!  Oh, I’m so excited to get to run away for awhile!  And see the ocean.  Somehow it strengthens me.  Maybe I’ll try a beach run….but wouldn’t my running shoes get full of sand?  Maybe not:)  But once we get to the work destination, the beach will not be there, but I’ll have an apartment to myself that boasts an upper-story deck with a lovely view, and complete silence if I so choose.  I can’t wait!

I finished the logbook for letterboxing that I was working on, and I’m very pleased with it.  I designed it to accomodate 3-4 times the amount of pages that it has in it currently, so if I end up loving this hobby and collecting lots of stamps, I won’t have to make a bigger one:)  I’ll have to look for letterboxes to find on our trip!  And I’ll take my camera and post pics!

I’ve had to write this post several times because something isn’t working here and it doesn’t save all of it, or won’t allow me to add pics of the logbook without messing up my post, so I’m going to post this and then try to add pics to it through the edit feature.  If that won’t work, and I’m not too irritated, I may put them in a slideshow just to get them on.

Finished Logbook

open logbook

Actions

Information

2 responses

22 09 2007
snpnmnmi

Your logbook is georgeous! So, do you fold it onto itself a time or two and then tie? Whatever, it turned out just beautiful. Do you guys want to go try for the one at the Game Farm… at least, I’m thinking that’s where 6kiddiez said she was putting it… at the hatchery? Tomorrow… open 1-5 on Sundays.
Tammy :):):)

24 09 2007
ttjk

Thank you:) I love it, and yes, the fabric wraps around and around, then you tie…that way, more pages can be added, and you just wrap less!
Didn’t get this post till now, but would love to do a little LBing this week (we’re taking off – just too much to do to prepare for the trip).

Leave a Reply

