Jibber-Jabber and Scribble Scribble :D

2 03 2009

Well so much for writing an update to that last post soon! LOL  Life just has a way of sweeping you along and sometimes days and weeks are but a blur.  Obviously I got back to life as usual, with heavy labor being avoided, of course 😉  and although I still have a lot of catching up to do in every area imaginable, it is very nice to be off the couch.  I have had some setbacks, but by the time it’s warm enough to really hike distance, I’ll be ready!  I had hoped to have had some short hikes in by this time, but between the setbacks and the nasty, nasty cold weather, outdoor activity is still on the back burner.  I only managed to get one of my stamps carved, and a mere four scrapbook pages done, because just as sitting at the computer was uncomfortable, so was sitting at the table to scrap or carve!

I am going to try my hand at writing children’s programming curriculum for our church, and I’m very excited to write again.  This blog has been a nice outlet, but because it is just a hobby, I tend to put it last on the priority list, and don’t put much thought into what comes out.  I’m nervous, of course, about the whole thing.  I put off commiting to it for too long, because my mind was just reeling with doubts:  I haven’t really written in forever!  What if I really just don’t have it.  What if I can’t come up with a way to get the message across one week?  What if they hate it?  I used to love writing, but what if I find that something I loved to do once is no longer a dream, but a terrible nightmare?  And what if I regret volunteering to do this?  My dh finally gave me a reality check by matter-of-factly pointing out that I’ll never know if that’s where my heart still is if I don’t give it a try, and that it is not a job that puts food on the table, and that I’ll just have to be honest with myself if it doesn’t work out.  Most importantly, he reminded me that it is simply an open door that I can choose to walk through, or not, and that God would not force me to do either, but that I did have to either walk through it or walk away.  I do believe that this is an opportunity from Him – I always, always wanted to write, and recently began spending some brain power on the possibility of writing some children’s books.  Several ideas just came to me and I got so excited about them.  I jotted down some things and then out of the blue, this opportunity came…. could be divine.  So, I’m going to give it a whirl.  Oh, another cool thing.  The guy I’d be working with in the children’s ministry department said (without knowing about my desire to write children’s books) said that he has been writing the programming, but that he’d love some help, because he’s really an artist, not a writer, and hopes to illustrate children’s books some day… really could be divine, huh?

🙂

We’re knee deep in Girl Scout cookies around here, and took the troop for a great field trip to the local recycling center today.  I think I’m always more mesmerized on such trips as the kids.  They never have questions, while I’m trying to sort out which ones to ask, ’cause I can’t possibly ask them all!!  It was very interesting to see how the whole process works, and the most amazing thing was this:  they grind glass down into a shiny, shimmering, colorful sort of mulch and some of it into non-conformist looking sand!  Being the child that I am, I just had to dig my hand into it before leaving – he was right – all the sharp edges were gone!

Well my honey came in here and asked when we were having our “hot and sweaty date”, so I’m gonna go talk to him about it.  FYI:  I sent him an email with that subject line (because you know they’d read that first) that was a link to register for a couples adventure in hiking/orienteering that is happening toward the end of this month.

LOL

Good night 😀

Actions

Information

2 responses

2 03 2009
1sg

Don’t fret, If God is in it you will succeed.

7 03 2009
ttjk

Yes, I know you’re right! I am so excited now that I got my nerves out of the way and committed to try it. They’re starting me out with the Preschool age level, with the option to switch levels (or add) according to how things work out. I can’t wait to get started 🙂

Leave a Reply

