Letterboxing Headlines

9 03 2009

New Boxers Successfully Recruited

My brother’s crew is in!  We had a beautiful day for boxing here in the Bluegrass, and it only took two successful finds to convince some potential Newbies that letterboxing is just plain cool.  I was worried when we found the first box, because not only was it at a busy park, the crazy March winds had apparently blown the box from it’s hiding spot (under a naked group of deciduous bushes) right out into the open, only about a dozen feet from a walking trail.  As my sister-in-law read the clues aloud for the benefit of the group, my nephew plunged ahead and interrupted, “I found it!”  That wasn’t exactly what I had envisioned for their first find.

As I lectured about the importance of re-planting carefully so the box doesn’t end up like we found this one, and about  how being inconspicuous is paramount, I led the group away from the plant site and we plopped into the grass for the ceremonial lesson on how to properly stamp in and conscientously replace the contents of the box, being careful to seal and deflate baggies and care for the stamp itself.

The stamp was not in the box.  The logbook was there, in a baggie, but no stamp.  Of course, although not a great way to persuade someone that it’s worth the trouble to find a box, it was to be a perfect example of what can happen if…

While I consoled, my sister-in-law returned to the plant site to have a look around, and miraculously returned with the stamp in hand.  How in the world did this box survive?  We certainly arrived at the climax of it’s life!  Happy boxers stamped in all around and added the new stamp to the ol’ logbook or carefully pressed the first image into a virgin one.  The box was carefully wedged into the crown of a bare bush, where the wind will hopefully not dislodge it.  It pained me to leave it so visible, but there was nowhere to put it that would have allowed the next finder to find it using the clues, so I made a mental note to alert the owner, and have done so.

The next box was the one that really did the trick.  It was well-hidden in the ivy at the base of a tree on an historical property – my favorite kind.  Not a soul was in site to wonder what we were doing, and the clues weren’t simly directions this time, which hinted to the newbies of the many possibilities that lie in boxes planted by different people.

Out of time, the newbies declared that they will box again.  I was satisfied.  Since they’re visiting the town where I have a “never before found” box this weekend, I made sure to tell them they’d be “first finders” and hopefully ensured that they won’t wait too long to start an AQ membership and get out and go boxing again!

Artistic Efforts Disappointing

I have discovered how difficult it is to convey what I think is beautiful about my state into a stamp image.  I know what I want to do; I just can’t seem to illustrate it.  I’m going to have to try finding each element as clip art and somehow join them together…ugh!  Maybe my son has a friend who’s a good artist that would be willing to help me get the image drawn…

Since I should be making Minestrone, I’ll go talk to him about that while I cook.

Actions

Information

One response

9 03 2009
1sg

Sounds like a well planned classroom exercise in letterboxing. You were able to provide examples of a lot of things to do and not to do in one short outing. Plus you had fun. I would call that a very successful day.

Leave a Reply

